Songwriter Challenge 1

I decided to start my day with a 45 minute Songwriter Challenge! Typically I do these under the structure and guidance of local songwriter Timmy Riordan. He hosts the Fearless Songwriter Challenge every month, or so.

I took inspiration from a short story written and illustrated by Jina Zhou. I don’t plan to share these videos aggressively, since they are so rough, but I think it’s important to share for anyone interested in the songwriting process. Most of my songs don’t start out this way or use this process, but I feel it’s time to expand my process and build on my ability.

Inspiration “I turned into a tree”
Working Title “Twisted Root”

I couldn’t catch your eye
But Oh, I stood so still
Hoping you would stop
And say something

My heart would skip a beat
My veins would feel so hot
But I do what I do best
I keep it to myself

I was a good girl
Though my knees would feel so weak
I was a good girl
Though my heart would skip a beat
I do what I do best
I keep it to myself

After standing still so long
My feet can’t leave the ground
After standing still so long
I can’t go out on my own.

But my memories are strong
My heart still skips a beat
I just don’t have the words
To tell you how I feel

I do what I do best
I keep it to myself

Leave a Reply

