“Perfect Day” original song

I wrote this song many years ago. It was nice to revive it for this video. I haven’t played it in a while. I thought maybe I wouldn’t post this week, because my cat is dying, and I’m extra sad. But I actually enjoy doing this, and it’s something I need to get better at. So, I’ll do my best to keep posting in my song diary this week.

This song I wrote after an especially heart breaking experience with a friend of mine. Not a boyfriend, but a good friend. Let’s raise a glass to not fucking up friendships.

I keep on hoping you’ll give me one more chance
It’s a pity this won’t last
I’ve lost the perfect day
Another car broke down on the highway

I used to keep you from falling to the ground
They say you’re lucky she’s around
But I got lost and fell behind
Now I’m the one who pulls you down

Put on your nicest party dress
It’s time to clean up all your mess
Time to hold your own all alone at a party

I never thought it’d be this hard
Keeping up to play my part
Better stop this car
Get this broken heart off the highway

I’m just as fucked as everyone we know
But it’s different, I feel different, when we’re alone
I’ve lost the perfect day
All dressed up for a piece of white cake

Put on your nicest party dress
It’s time to clean up all your mess
Time to hold your own all alone at a party

I never thought it’d hurt this much
To be the one to fuck things up
Better stop this car
Get this broken heart off the highway

Leave a Reply

